Silverstone stages spectacular BARC Finals Weekend

09 Oct 17

The curtain came down on a host of British Automobile Racing Club championships at Silverstone this past weekend (7/8 October) in spectacular fashion as champions were crowned.

Taking to the celebrated home of British motorsport to tackle the infamous International layout, eight categories rounded out their 2017 campaigns.

In the APL Health Caterham Graduates Championship, four amalgamated encounters kept fans on the edge-of-their-seats. The combined Classic, Super, Mega & Sigma races saw Declan Dolan take a brace of victories and in doing so, the Mega title.

Toby Briant meanwhile secured the Super crown whilst Graeme Smith and Jon Harmer scored titles in the Classic and Sigma classes respectively.

Spoils were shared in the two Sigmax races as Adrian Russell and Mark Johnson taking a win apiece. As they did that, Oliver Gibson wrapped up the final title on offer in the one-make series.

Ben Palmer cemented his status as the man to beat in the Michelin Clio Cup Series as clinched the Race Series title. Finishing hot on the heels of James Colburn in a frenetic race one, Palmer put himself out of sight of title rival Anton Spires to secure the championship. Palmer prevailed from a photo-finish in race two to finish the year on the top of the rostrum.

After several years of finishing as runner-up, Nic Harrison made sure he wasn’t to be denied in the Road Series as he clinched the title.

The BARC ‘King Henry Taverns’ Clubmans Championship saw further dominance for teenager James Clarke. In a league of his own in all three races, Clarke extended his win tally to eight in a row and ten in total for the season.

Jon Halliwell and Paul Roddison bagged a win each in the Max5 Racing Championship but it was to be Halliwell that claimed the remaining title in Class C.

Alex Cursley emerged from the Hyundai Coupe Cup with the most victories over the course of the season as he took wins in both races. Entering the weekend tied on five with Steve Kite, Cursley romped to a brace to finish the season having topped the podium on nine occasions.

Alan Forster was unstoppable in the Lancaster Insurance MG Owner’s Club Championship whilst James Card achieved the same feat in the Kumho BMW Championship.

Rounding out the action was a host of races from the Classic Touring Car Racing Club. With ten different championships and more than 130 drivers competing, keeping on top of the action was always going to be a challenge.

Andrew Harrison proved too much for the opposition in the Paul Inch – Classic Race Engines Pre ’66 Touring Cars & CTCRC Group 1 Pre ’83 Touring Car Championship races, taking both wins.

In the Pre 93 Touring Cars, The YourITMan Pre 03 Touring Cars, Toyo Tires Pre 05 Production Touring Cars & 4Two Cup encounters, Craig Jameson and David Griffin took the chequered flag first in both races.

Dale Gent capped off the list of winners as he won both Thunder Saloon, Blue Oval Saloons, Bilstein Pre 03 Classic VW & Toyo Tires Honda VTEC Challenge races.

For the full classification of results, click here.