BARC gearing up for blockbuster Finals Weekend at Silverstone

05 Oct 17

Silverstone is set to hold one of the biggest events of the season for the British Automobile Racing Club this weekend (7/8 October) as more than eight championships round out their 2017 campaigns.

A whole host of class champions will be crowned at the celebrated ‘home of British motorsport’ across both days around the International layout.

The Michelin Clio Cup Series see’s Ben Palmer and Anton Spires settle their year-long duel at the scene of where it all began in March.

Proving to be the class of the field this year, the pair have shared every win that has been on offer. Entering the weekend, Palmer finds himself in the box seat with a 16 point lead when dropped scores are taken into account over Spires.

There will be a head-to-head fight in the Race series of the Clio category too as Nic Harrison and Shanel Drewe duke it out for the coveted title. It will be worth noting too that the series will boast its biggest grid in two years as well.

It is all to play for in the APL Health Caterham Graduates Championship with four of the five classes to be decided. Graeme Smith leads Robin Webb by four points in the Classic class whilst Toby Briant finds himself in a similar position with a slender advantage over Andy Molson in the Super class.

Glenn Burtenshaw and Declan Dolan have been trading places at the top of the Mega Championship all season, with Burtenshaw now leading Dolan by a single point. Meanwhile, Oliver Gibson and Jamie Ellwood are locked in a battle for Sigmax honours.

The BARC ‘King Henry’s Taverns’ Clubmans Championship draws to a close this weekend with one champion still to be crowned. Both James Clark and Mike Evans have unassailable leads in their respective classes but the battle in Classic Classes B, C & D see’s Barry Webb on the cusp of glory.

Double points in the Max5 Racing Championship will spice up the action with the likes of Jon Halliwell, Paul Roddison, Ian Loversidge, Matthew Tidmarsh and Josh Malin all ones to watch.

In the Kumho BMW Championship; Oliver Taylor, James Macintyre-Ure, Chris Cheverall, Gareth Montgomery and Giuseppe Callari have all put themselves out of touch in their respective classes. In Class CC however, the trio of Kevin Denwood, Russell Dack and Stephane Jansem are all in contention.

The Lancaster Insurance MG Owner’s Club Championship has produced plenty of entertainment during 2017 and the finale should be no different. Both David Amphlett and Simon Kendrick have both built up strong leads in their classes and should be strong, whilst Alan Forster, Phil Walker and Stuart Philips are all in contention for Class Z victory.

Boasting the biggest grids of anyone this weekend will be the Classic Touring Car Racing Club, with more than 100 entrants confirmed. Amalgamating several of their grids to stage a total of six of races, fans will be treated a diverse range of machines going wheel-to-wheel such as Ford Capri’s, Honda Civic’s and Smart cars, plus a whole lot more.

With a total of ten different championships within the CTCRC umbrella, keeping track of things will be quite the task as the laps ticks by over the course of the weekend.

Rounding out the action will be the Hyundai Coupe Cup, however due to this being a series; no champion will be crowned this weekend. There is still plenty at stake though on the bumper entry list with Alex Cursley and Steve Kite fighting it out to emerge with the most race wins. Heading into the final two races, both are tied on five.

In total 23 races will be played out around the Northamptonshire-based venue this weekend with the action set to once again provide edge-of-the-seat thrills.