New winners come to the fore at Cadwell Park

12 Sep 17

Cadwell Park provided the latest stop on the calendar for a host of BARC championships this past weekend (9/10 September) with an enthusiastic crowd soaking up what the best of club racing had to offer.

Famed for its undulation and ability to produce close wheel-to-wheel action, the Lincolnshire-based circuit battled mixed conditions across both days, further intensifying the challenge for both drivers and teams.

The Absolute Alignment Citroen C1 Challenge rounded off its maiden season with a brace of endurance races, both of which showcased what the series is all about.

In the shorter two-hour race, the pairing of Andrew Stacey and Paul Roddison piloted their car to victory, completing 58 laps and taking the chequered by more than a minute ahead of their nearest rivals.

Jacques Jenson, Aaron Bailey and Chris Davison then teamed up in the longer four-hour encounter to emerge victorious, clocking an impressive 113 laps. The trio would ultimately lap the entire field.

Building up a following since officially breaking cover at the Autosport Show International at the start of the year, the future looks bright for the one-make formula as all eyes begin to focus on 2018.

Following in the footsteps of the Citroen category in terms of small machines competing at Cadwell, the Mighty Minis Championship turned out in force too.

The weekend’s two races proved to be pivotal in terms of the championship battle as both Alice Hughes and Damian Harrington failed to finish race one. Harrington’s weekend went from bad to worse as he retired from the second encounter as well.

With the main protagonists out of contention, Lee Poolman and Owen Edgley took a win apiece whilst Scott Kendall and Adrian Tuckley shared the spoils in the Super Mighty Mini class.

There was a brand new winner in the Luna Logistics Formula Ford 1600 Championship too at the weekend too as Doug Crosbie topped the rostrum. In only his third event piloting the Van Diemen he shares with his brother Paul, Crosbie was in fine form at the front of the field in race one.

Normal service was resumed in race two as reigning champion Adriano Medeiros took his seventh win of the season.

Mark Baker and Alan Forster took a win apiece in two blockbuster Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship races with consistency proving to be key for Simon Kendrick and Phil Walker too as they bagged a podium each in both races.

For the full classification of results, click here.