BARC championships produce spectacular entertainment at Donington Park

24 Jul 17

Thousands of fans battled mixed conditions this past weekend (22/23 July) for a bumper weekend of racing at Donington Park as part of the inaugural Convoy in the Park event.

Headlining the weekend were the heavyweight machines from the British Truck Racing Championship. Leaving their mark wherever they go, Division 1 and 2 boasted stacked entry lists with plenty of variety being provided when it came to race winners.

In Division 2; Simon Cole, Luke Garrett, Mika Makinen and Tony Smith took wins in a quartet of highly competitive outings. The action heated up further in Division 1 with a sizeable accident taking place in the race two which brought out a red flag.

When trucks were on track, European competitor Anthony Janiec raced to a brace of wins with David Jenkins also getting in on the act. Reigning champion Ryan Smith rounded off the weekend with a win in the final race.

Lea Wood closed the gap to the top of the Pickup Truck Racing Championship after enjoying a strong weekend. Wood and Michael Smith proved to be in a class of their own, finishing more than ten seconds ahead of third place in both races.

Wood prevailed in race one after slipping past Scott Bourne on the opening lap, ultimately never being headed afterwards. Smith shadowed Wood in the opener and the roles were reversed in race two. Lee Rogers and Mark Willis rounded out the podium in the respective races.

Spoils were shared in the Michelin Clio Cup Series too; however it was to be Ben Palmer that emerged having extended his advantage in the points. Capitalising on Anton Spires not finishing race one, Palmer took his fifth consecutive victory in a row and with it a substantial haul of points.

Spires fired back with a win of his own in race two to close the gap but still faces an uphill battle to secure a second championship in the series. In the road class, Shanel Drewe and Nic Harrison took a win each.

Ben Power returned to the helm of the UK National Legends Cars Championship as he scored four wins out of six races under the flightpath of East Midlands airport. Whilst Power was a force to be reckoned, arguably the most celebrated success was the first ever car racing win for Will Gibson.

Championship front-runner Jack Parker, who did encounter one or two problems during the Donington weekend, was the event’s other victor

In the Mighty Minis, perennial frontrunners Scott Kendall and Adrian Tuckley took wins whilst David Mellor doubled up in the Lancaster Insurance MG Owners Club Championship.

Fans of single seater racing were treated to two enthralling races from the Luna Logistics Formula Ford 1600 Championship too. With a bumper grid of more than 20 entrants competing, defending champion Adriano Medeiros and Simon Hadfield emerged topping the rostrum.

Capping off the action was the CNC Heads Saloon/Sports Car Championship, which yielded two victories for Paul Rose.

To view the full results classification, click here.