BARC shines at Cadwell Park

15 May 17

The British Automobile Racing Club enjoyed a memorable two days at Cadwell Park this past weekend (13/14 May) with a bumper 26-race programme dazzling those that attended trackside.

Ben Power extended his lead in the MRF Legends Cars National Championship as he romped to three victories over the course of the weekend at the Lincolnshire venue. Continuing his fine form on from Anglesey, Power took success in both heats on Saturday before going on to win on Sunday too.

Jack Parker claimed two wins and almost made it a hat-trick before being pipped to the post in the last race of the weekend by multiple champion John Mickel.

Boasting arguably the biggest grids of the weekend, the Classic Touring Car Racing club descended on Cadwell Park with a whole host of different championships. The Bilstein Pre 03 Classic VW & Burton Power Blue Oval Saloons races saw Dan Roberts-Jefferson take the chequered flag in both of their races, piloting the VW Golf 1781.

AJ Owen took both wins in the Pre 93 Touring Cars & The YourITMan Pre 03 Touring Cars, with Stephen Primmett and Andrew Harrison sharing the spoils in the Paul Inch Classic Race Engines Pre 66 & Silverbug IT Group 1 Touring Cars.

Andy Robinson triumphed in the Thunder Saloon Championship & Toyo Tires Honda VTEC Challenge. Capping the list of CTCRC winners was Gary Parkes in the Toyo Tires Pre 05 Production Touring Cars & 4Two Cup races.

In the Classic 2CV Racing Championship, defending champion Lien Davies continued his expert defence of his title with another victory whilst Brian Heerey prevented him from making it a dominant double.

Joe Spencer proved to be the man to beat in the CNC Heads Sports/Saloon Car Championship once again too.With a 28-car strong grid competing, the former champion bagged both wins around the undulating Cadwell layout in his Stuart Taylor Locosaki 1400.

The APL Health Caterham Graduates Championship produced some spellbinding action too with winners aplenty from the multi-class series. In the Classic category, Graeme Smith and Matthew Willoughby were the big winners whilst Toby Briant maintained his fine start to the season with a brace of winners in the Super class.

Declan Donan and Luke Cooper were the winners from the Mega class with Jamie Winrow and Harry Cramer doing the same in the Sigmax. Rounding out the winners were Jon Harmer and Ian Anderson, both of whom prevailed from the Sigma class.

For the full classification of results from the weekend, click here.