Rockingham produces three different winners in Pickup Trucks

15 May 17

Three different winners prevailed from an enthralling day of Pickup Truck Racing on Sunday (14 May) as the series made its second visit of the year to Rockingham.

With three meetings already in the books heading into the weekend, the action in Pickup Trucks has been coming thick and fast of late as the search for a new champion continues.

Marking the second oval event of the year around the high-speed Corby venue, Rockingham once again underlined the skill and bravery of all drivers on the grid as they clocked average speeds of more than 110mph.

Leading the way in timed practice, Paul Poulter and Mark Willis looked to be the drivers to beat heading into race one with their speed transferring over to the race. Grabbing the lead, Willis controlled the early going however championship leader Scott Bourne and Poulter were soon breathing down his neck.

Hitting the front on lap 19/25, Poulter pulled the pin and looked to be on course for victory. That was until the dying stages when Willis regained the lead he had lost and went on to take the win.

Race two was very much like the first with the lead changing hands on a number of occasions before one driver took control to claim the chequered flag.

Bourne, Paul Tompkins and Charlie Weaver all enjoyed stints out front in the second 25-lap encounter however Poulter wasn't to be denied this time round as he eventually romped to top spot to take the win.

Mel Collins, who had endured a tough start to the day with a race one retirement, bounced back in the final race of the day around the infamous layout to record a first victory of the season ahead of Tompkins and Michael Smith.

A notable absentee from the podium all-day was title favourite Lea Wood in his Morris Lubricants machine. The #43 could only muster a fifth, seventh and sixth respectively.

To view the full classifications from every session at Rockingham, click here.

For more information on the Pickup Truck Racing Championship such as driver standings, visit the website here.